Jerry Frantz

* 1955 in Esch-sur-Alzette (L)

Lives and works in Pratz (L).

Jerry Frantz, born in 1955 in Esch-sur-Alzette in Luxembourg, studied graphic design from 1976 to 1981 at the Académie Royale des Beaux-Art Bruxelles and the École Supérieure des Arts Appliqués in Paris. He lives and works in Pratz in Luxembourg.

With regard to his understanding of art, he acknowledges that in order to create art, it is important to be familiar with art history; but art in the here and now only functions in the time when it is created. So it is not surprising that in his work, Jerry Frantz doesn’t give precedence to any particular medium. He works in equal measure with video, photography, installations and performance. The viewer should be integrated directly into his art and often becomes engaged in role- play that surprises, shocks and stimulates reflection. In response to the terrorist attacks in Luxembourg during 1985-86, which were known as the bomb-planter affair, and through the coming to terms with them in the early 2000s, Jerry Frantz began to focus more intensely on the concepts of the nation and nationalism.

One of his works at the IKOB is the message of the République Libre de Clairefontaine created in 2008. In his solo exhibition Post-Incunables at the Centre d’Art – Ville de Dudelange in 2009, he returned briefly to printed graphics and created a series of erotic woodcuts that analyse the visual language of the mass media. He resumed the approach of investigating national pride in the mirror of media reception in 2010 when he created the photo montage Heilige Goldjungfrau rette unsere Wirtschaft und bewahre uns vor der Armut (“Holy Virgin of Gold, save our economy and preserve us from poverty”). It shows the Luxembourgian national symbol of the Gëlle Fra holding a life preserver instead of her customary attribute of the laurel wreath. In the double exhibition with Sali Muller at the IKOB, however, he focuses on the role of the individual who adapts to the dictates of social conditions or detaches himself from them – with the second alternative most often turning him into an outsider, eccentric and maverick.

Jerry Frantz, République Libre de Clairefontaine

République Libre de Clairefontaine, 2008

Jerry Frantz, Trials and Errors I: Atelier subversif

Trials and Errors I: Atelier subversif, 2017

Jerry Frantz, Trials and Errors I: Atelier subversif

Trials and Errors I: Atelier subversif, 2017

Jerry Frantz, Trials and Errors I: Atelier subversif

Trials and Errors I: Atelier subversif, 2017

Jerry Frantz

* 1955 à Esch-sur-Alzette (L)

Vit et travaille à Pratz (L).

Né en 1955 à Esch-sur-Alzette (Luxembourg), Jerry Frantz étudie, de 1976 à 1981, le design graphique à l’Académie royale des beaux-arts de Bruxelles et à l’École supérieure des arts appliqués de Paris. Il vit et travaille en tant qu’artiste plasticien à Pratz (Luxembourg).

Interrogé sur sa conception de l’art, Jerry Frantz reconnaît qu’il est important pour un artiste d’en connaître l’histoire, mais que, vécu au présent, l’art ne fonctionne que dans le contexte temporel dans lequel il voit le jour. Qu’il ne privilégie pas un média plutôt qu’un autre dans son travail – vidéo, photographie, installations ou performances – n’a donc rien de surprenant. Pour lui, l’observateur doit être directement impliqué dans l’œuvre ; il se retrouve fréquemment placé dans un jeu de rôle qui surprend, choque et invite à la réflexion. Suite aux attentats perpétrés au Luxembourg en 1985-1986 (l’« affaire des poseurs de bombes ») et à la tentative de faire la lumière sur ces événements au début des années 2000, Jerry Frantz se focalise plus encore, dans son travail, sur les concepts de nation et de nationalisme.

L’une de ses œuvres, l’ambassade de la République Libre de Clairefontaine (2008), se trouve à l’IKOB. Dans le cadre d’une exposition individuelle intitulée Post-Incunables au Centre d’Art – Ville de Dudelange, il revient brièvement à la gravure en 2009, avec une série de travaux érotiques sur bois examinant le langage visuel des médias de masse. En 2010, il renoue avec le projet d’analyser l’image de la fierté nationale véhiculée par les médias en réalisant le photomontage Heilige Goldjungfrau rette unsere Wirtschaft und bewahre uns vor der Armut (Sainte Vierge dorée, sauve notre économie et préserve-nous de la pauvreté). On y reconnaît le symbole national luxembourgeois, la Gëlle Fra (Femme dorée), tenant entre ses mains non pas son attribut habituel, la couronne de laurier, mais une bouée de sauvetage. Dans l’exposition en duo avec Sali Muller proposée à l’IKOB, Frantz prend cependant pour point de départ le rôle de l’individu, qui s’adapte aux conditions de la société dans laquelle il vit ou s’en isole, devenant dans ce cas le plus souvent un solitaire, un original, un marginal ou un excentrique.

Jerry Frantz, République Libre de Clairefontaine

République Libre de Clairefontaine, 2008

Jerry Frantz, Trials and Errors I : Atelier subversif

Trials and Errors I : Atelier subversif, 2017

Jerry Frantz, Trials and Errors I : Atelier subversif

Trials and Errors I : Atelier subversif, 2017

Jerry Frantz, Trials and Errors I : Atelier subversif

Trials and Errors I : Atelier subversif, 2017