Willi Filz, Syrie, 2001, Courtesy the Artist


Ostbelgischer Kunstpreis 2001


Willi Filz, Jean-Pierre Bredo, Joachim Peter Buchholz, Roby Hoffmann, Norbert Huppertz , Martha Laugs, Anne Saffre, Alfred Van Cauteren

The East Belgian Art Prize will be awarded for the first time. Every three years, prize money will be awarded to an artist from East Belgium and the neighbouring Walloon municipalities. In this way, the IKOB promotes contemporary art in East Belgium and gives more visibility to artists from the region.

This year's East Belgian Art Prize was selected by a jury consisting of Françoise Safin-Crahay, director of the MAMAC - Musée d 'Art Moderne et d'Art Contemporain de la ville de Liège, Ann Demeester, curator and deputy of Jan Hoet at the S. M.A.K. - Stedelijk Museum van Aktuele Kunst in Ghent, Bettina Heldenstein, curator at Casino Luxembourg- Forum d'Art Contemporain, and Pierre-Olivier Rollin, Director of the Collection of the Province of Hainaut.