This exhibition was curated by a group of children and presents artworks from the IKOB collection. Eight young art fans embarked on the adventure to develop an exhibition in collaboration with the IKOB team over a period of six weeks. During regular meetings at the museum, they worked as a group to develop the thematic focus, the selection of works, the scenography and the publication material.

The children had the opportunity to look behind the scenes of the museum and conceptualise an exhibition that meets their needs. In the process, they addressed many questions: What does an exhibition require to be exciting for the public? How can new stories emerge by putting together different works of art? How do you develop a project in a group that everyone is happy with? And last but not least: How do you turn a museum on its head?

The young curators organised EAT THE RAINBOW around six ‘colour planets’: WALD INDEPOLM, GESTERN BIS MORGEN, RAUCH STEIGT AUF, EINE TROCKENE WELT, RUSTY ROSE and BLUBB. They selected 63 works from the museum’s collection and assigned them associatively to these thematic worlds. This creates new, sometimes unexpected bridges between the works and the exhibited artists.

This exhibition offers the special opportunity to see a large part of the IKOB collection, which has not been presented at this scale since 2020. The IKOB collection is a visual reflection of the history of the museum. With almost 400 works, it conveys the artistic, political and geographical orientation of the museum. The IKOB collection bears witness to the friendly spirit that has connected the museum with artists since its beginnings. With this project, the museum honors this tradition and aims to further expand the social and participatory role of our cultural heritage.

Cette exposition a été organisée par un groupe d’enfants et présente des œuvres d’art de la collection de l’IKOB. Huit jeunes amateur.rice.s d’art se sont lancé.e.s dans cette aventure et ont développé l’exposition avec l’équipe de l’IKOB sur une période de six semaines. Lors de rencontres régulières à l’IKOB, les enfants ont élaboré collectivement le thème principal, le choix des œuvres, l’aménagement de l’espace et le matériel accompagnant l’exposition.

Les enfants ont eu l’occasion de jeter un coup d’œil dans les coulisses du musée et d’organiser une exposition qui réponde à leurs attentes. Ce faisant, iels se sont penchés sur de nombreuses questions : De quoi a besoin une exposition qui soit passionnante pour le public ? Comment de nouvelles histoires naissent-elles de l’assemblage d’œuvres d’art différentes ? Comment élaborer un projet en collectif dont tout le monde soit satisfait ? Et enfin, et non des moindres : Comment mettre un musée sens dessus dessous ?

Les jeunes curateur.rice.s ont conçu EAT THE RAINBOW à partir de six planètes de couleur : WALD INDEPOLM, GESTERN BIS MORGEN, RAUCH STEIGT SUR, EINE TROCKENE WELT, RUSTY ROSE et BLUBB. Iels ont choisi 63 œuvres parmi les œuvres de la collection du musée et les ont attribuées par association à ces univers thématiques. Ainsi, de nouvelles passerelles, parfois inattendues, se créent entre les œuvres et entre les artistes.

L’exposition offre l’occasion particulière de voir une grande partie de la collection de l’IKOB, qui n’a pas été présentée dans cette ampleur depuis 2020. La collection de l’IKOB est une réflexion en images sur l’histoire du musée. Avec près de 400 œuvres, elle transmet l’orientation artistique, politique et géographique du musée. La collection de l’IKOB témoigne de l’esprit d’amitié qui lie l’établissement aux artistes depuis ses débuts. Avec ce projet, le musée rend hommage à cette tradition et souhaite étendre encore davantage le rôle social et participatif de notre patrimoine culturel.